Our Begining

Our Beginning

The Kendra has a unique history. In 1959, the executive committee of the Indian Assembly of Youth came to the conclusion that if youth work has to be developed in the country on scientific lines, a national youth centre should be established, which would provide on a continuous basis, training in youth work to the workers of youth organisations. The committee also visualised the centre as an international meeting place for young people from all over the world. Since a centre of this type had to have a certain permanency, it was decided to set up an independent trust, which would command the neccessary respect and support.


    The Indian Youth Centres Trust was set up on 10th August 1961 with the following trustees:
  • Shri Morarji Desai (Former Prime Minister of India)
  • Smt. Indira Gandhi (Former Prime Minister of India)
  • Shri Naval H Tata (Industrialist and Philanthropist)
  • Shri Ravindra Varma (Former MP and President, WAY)
  • Shri V J Shah (Business Executive)
  • Shri Ramakrishna Bajaj (Industrialist and Former Member, IYC)


Shri Morarji Desai was founder Chairman and Shri Ramakrishna Bajaj was founder Managing Trustee

In 1960, the decision was taken to build a youth centre. Although the building plans were drawn up in 1962, the India-China conflict which engulfed the sub-continent in October of that year caused unexpected delay in starting the construction of the building. The India-Pakistan war of 1965 caused some more delay. It was decided to proceed with the construction of the building in two stages. The first phase comprising mainly the hostel and the central hall was completed and was inaugurated on 22nd December 1968 by Dr. Zakir Husain , the then President of India.

The Founder Trustees


The Founder Trustees(clockwise Founder Chairman Sh. Morarji Desai, Smt. Indira Gandhi , Sh V.J.Shah, Sh Naval Tata, Sh Ravindra Varma, Sh Ram Krishna Bajaj (managing Trustee)


Prime Minister Nehru gets a report


Prime Minister Nehru gets a report on the working of the project (1961). With him are (from left to right) Sh. Ram Lal Parikh, Sh. Ram Krishna Bajaj, Chairman WAY India & Sh. PT Kuriakose.


Opening the Kendra Building


Dr. Zakir Hussain, President of India opens the Kendra Building